Subscribe / Unsubscribe Enewsletters | Login | Register

Pencil Banner

itSMF offering new service management credential programme

Antony Savvas | July 26, 2011
priSM available to members only

IT service management user group itSMF UK has launched its own professional service management credential programme.

The group, which has over 12,000 members, has launched the priSM (Professional Recognition for IT Service Management) credential system.

Available exclusively to itSMF members, priSM will provide a programme for professional recognition and personal development in the ITSM (IT service management) industry and deliver a new registry of ITSM professionals, said itSMF.

Ben Clacy, itSMF CEO, said: "We are committed to providing our members with opportunities to build their knowledge and advance best practice in the ITSM industry. The priSM programme ensures that members are formally recognised and rewarded for their growth and professional achievements."

Individuals who hold priSM credentials will stand out as ITSM professionals as they will possess industry recognised certifications such as ITIL, PRINCE2, and Six Sigma, as well as "demonstrable practical experience", said Clacy.

There are five levels of priSM credential:
- Student in Service Management (SSM) - for students with an interest in ITSM
- Associate in Service Management (ASM) - for entry-level professionals
- Professional in Service Management (PSM) - for mid-level, experienced service management professionals
- Distinguished Professional in Service Management (DPSM) - for senior, experienced service management professionals and leaders
- Fellow in Service Management (FSM) - for those senior professionals who have been recognised for making significant contributions to the profession and its body of knowledge

The validation and granting of credentials is being administered by the priSM Institute, a wholly owned subsidiary of itSMF International, but governed by its own board of directors.


Sign up for Computerworld eNewsletters.