Subscribe / Unsubscribe Enewsletters | Login | Register

Pencil Banner

What to expect when the game industry invades Los Angeles

Hayden Dingman | June 9, 2014
The future of virtual reality, Steam Machines, and of course games, will play out next week at this mega-show.

Does Microsoft jump into the VR war too, as consolation for losing the Kinect battle? Be still, my heart.

And just like GDC, we'll no doubt be bombarded on the show floor with shoddy VR also-rans and weird "immersive" tech. I look forward to strapping on some arm bands, wearing a power glove, running on a hamster wheel, or whatever else companies plan to sell to me as "the future of gaming" this year.

And don't forget the big hardware question mark: Steam Machines. Valve recently announced it would have to delay the release of the oh-so-crucial Steam Controller to 2015, potentially pushing the whole enterprise back a year. Do we get confirmation of that at the show? Do we get our hands on one of the fabled Steam Machines at the show? We'll see. I certainly hope so.

Hell freezes over

Cue the Journey track. Some dreams will never die.

Half-Life 3? The Last Guardian? Fallout 4? A sequel to Red Dead Redemption? A new Tony Hawk? Don't hold your breath... but hope.

Live from Los Angeles

If you aren't at E3, no big deal--all the major press conferences are being streamed this year. Watch from the comfort of your own home. If you want an authentic experience, make sure not to shower for three days ahead of time, turn your thermostat up to a balmy 90 degrees inside, and consume nothing but Doritos and Mountain Dew for four days.

Monday, June 9 (Press Conference Day)

9:30 AM Pacific/12:30 PM Eastern: Microsoft Press Conference

12 PM Pacific/3 PM Eastern: EA Press Conference

3 PM Pacific/6 PM Eastern: Ubisoft Press Conference

6 PM Pacific/9 PM Eastern: Sony Press Conference

Tuesday, June 10

9 AM Pacific/12 PM Eastern: Nintendo "Press Conference"

Once the show has actually started, you can find official E3 content on Twitch.tv. The team over there will be showing off footage of a number of unreleased (and even some unannounced) games for six or seven hours each day.

And, of course, stay tuned to PCWorld and TechHive, our sister sites. We'll be on the floor and bringing you the E3 news that you need to know, starting Monday.

 

Previous Page  1  2  3 

Sign up for Computerworld eNewsletters.